Economic Development

1.          Mandate

The Economic Development Committee is a standing Committee of Council of the Township of Horton.  It reviews for recommendation to Council reports, policies, projects and levels of service specific to Economic Development functions.

2.          Focus

The Economic Development Committee’s areas of focus are generally as follows:

  • Economic Development
  • Business Attraction & Growth
  • Business Retention

3.          Composition

The Economic Development Committee is comprised of two members of Council and up to three Public Advisory Members.  One will be the Chair and the other will be the Co-Chair, as appointed on recommendation of the Mayor.  The Public Advisory Members are chosen by Council, through an application-based system, per Term of Council. Public Advisory Members must be a property owner, majority shareholder, resident or tenant of the Township and is to provide input on Committees in an advisory capacity.

The Chair will preside over the portion of the Council Meeting dedicated to Economic Development items and serves as a sounding board and Council-liaison for the responsible departments.

The Mayor is ex-officio on every Standing Committee of Council.  The Mayor may participate fully in the meeting business, however, shall not be counted as part of the quorum nor make recommendations.