General Government

Chair Tom Webster

Public Advisory Members Susan Humphries and Spencer Hopping

See Council Packages for General Government Agendas

1.          Mandate

The General Government Committee is a standing Committee of Council of the Township of Horton.  It reviews for recommendation to Council reports, policies, projects and levels of service specific to General Government functions.

2.          Focus

The General Government Committee’s areas of focus are generally as follows:

  • Governance
  • Administration & Corporate Management
  • Strategic Planning
  • Financial Services, including Audit & Budget
  • Legislative Services
  • Legal Matters and Risk Management/Insurance
  • Information Technology
  • Human Resources and Labour Relations
  • Health & Safety
  • Intergovernmental Relations
  • Accessibility
  • Provincial Offences Act Administration

3.          Composition

The General Government Committee is comprised of all members of Council and up to three Public Advisory Members.  The Chair and the Co-Chair shall be appointed on the recommendation of the Mayor.  The Public Advisory Members are chosen by Council, through an application-based system, per Term of Council. Public Advisory Members must be a property owner, majority shareholder, resident or tenant of the Township and is to provide input on Committees in an advisory capacity.

The Chair will preside over the portion of the Council Meeting dedicated to General Government items and serves as a sounding board and Council-liaison for the responsible departments.

The Mayor is ex-officio on every Standing Committee of Council.  The Mayor may participate fully in the meeting business, however, shall not be counted as part of the quorum nor make recommendations.