#### THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWNSHIP OF HORTON

# TES Committee Meeting November 4<sup>th</sup>, 2020

8:30 a.m.

There was a meeting of the Transportation and Environmental Services Committee held via Zoom on Wednesday November 4, 2020. Present was Chair Tom Webster, Councillor Lane Cleroux, Public Advisory Members Rick Lester, Murray Humphries, and Tyler Anderson. Staff present was Public Works Manager, Adam Knapp, and Admin/Planning Assistant, Nichole Dubeau - Recording Secretary.

Mayor David Bennett sent his regrets.

#### 1. **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Webster called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. and performed roll call for committee members.

	Present	Absent
Chair Tom Webster	X	
Councillor Lane Cleroux	Х	
Mayor David Bennett		Χ
Public Advisory Member Tyler Anderson	Х	
Public Advisory Member Rick Lester	Х	
Public Advisory Member Murray Humphries	Х	

#### 2. **DECLARATION OF PECUNIARY INTEREST**

There was no declaration of pecuniary interest from committee members.

#### **MINUTES FROM PREVIOUS MEETING:** 3.

October 7<sup>th</sup>, 2020

Moved by Rick Lester

Seconded by Tyler Anderson

**THAT** the Committee approve the October 7<sup>th</sup>, 2020 Minutes.

	Yea	Nay
Chair Webster	X	
Councillor Cleroux	Χ	
Tyler Anderson	Χ	
Rick Lester	Х	
Murray Humphries	Х	

Carried

#### PRODUCER REPSONSIBILTY BLUE BOX PROGRAM TRANSITION

Public Works Manager Adam Knapp reviewed the report. The committee agreed that a letter be sent to MPP John Yakabuski, Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario to move up the producer's responsibility for Horton Township from 2025 to 2023.

#### Moved by Tyler Anderson

#### Seconded by Rick Lester

**THAT** the TES Committee recommend to Council to request that the Producer Responsibility Blue Box Program Transition for Horton Township be changed from 2025 to 2023;

**AND THAT** this resolution be sent to Renfrew-Nippissing-Pembroke MPP, John Yakabuski, the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario.

	Yea	Nay
Chair Webster	X	
Councillor Cleroux	Х	
Tyler Anderson	X	
Rick Lester	Х	
Murray Humphries	Х	

Carried

#### 5. STORIE ROAD UPDATE

Public Works Manager Adam Knapp reviewed the report. Councillor Cleroux stated that the Province just announced new funding towards disaster mitigation that could be used towards this project and suggested seeing if McNab/Braeside would be interested in a joint application. Chair Webster and Mayor Bennett are to meet with McNab/Braeside Mayor and Chair of TES. Public Works Manager Adam Knapp and Admin/Planning Assistant Nikky Dubeau are to investigate the Provincial funding announcement and the number of McNab/Braeside residents versus Horton residents and seasonal versus permanent residents.

#### 6. TRAFFIC CALMING

Public Works Manager Adam Knapp reviewed the report.

## Moved by Tyler Anderson

Seconded by Rick Lester

**THAT** the TES Committee recommend to Council to purchase two (2) EVL-11 Solar Powered Feed Back Display units and one (1) TL Battery Powered Speed Tracker

AND THAT this be funded from the Modernization Reserves Fund.

	Yea	Nay
Chair Webster	X	
Councillor Cleroux	Χ	
Tyler Anderson	X	
Rick Lester	Х	
Murray Humphries	Х	

**Carried** 

#### 7. PROPOSED 10 YEAR CAPITAL PLAN

Public Works Manager Adam Knapp reviewed the report. Chair Webster stated that Whitton Road should stay on the project list for 2021. Mr. Knapp added that Thompsonhill can only be done completely with funding. Chair Webster, Mayor Bennett, Public Works Manager Adam Knapp, and Treasurer Nathalie Moore are to meet to discuss the work for Whitton Road and Thompsonhill for 2021.

### 8. **NEW/OTHER BUSINESS**

Public Works Manager Adam Knapp stated that one bid has been received for the Tandem Truck posted on Gov Deals since posted on November 1, 2020.

## 9. **NEXT MEETING DATE**

i. December 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2020 at 8:30 a.m.

## 10. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Webster	daclarad tha	magting adiou	irnad at 10:07	a m
Onan Webster	ucciai cu ii ic	THEELING AGIOC	111164 at 10.01	a.111.

CHAIR Tom Webster CAC	D/CLERK Hope Dillabough